老九品茶

If You Liked This, Try This DEI Option: BookTok Edition

By Lucy McGraw

This month, the content team has selected some of our favourite titles that fans of BookTok’s most popular books will love. As the content team focuses on highlighting DEI authors and titles wherever possible, this month鈥檚 book list features titles by authors of colour that are perfect for even the most prolific BookTok readers.

Check out the list below to find titles for all ages and the books’ Accelerated Reader quiz information.

 

Rick Riordan Presents: Aru Shah and the End of Time-A Pandava Novel, Book 1 : Chokshi, Roshani: Amazon.co.uk: Books What happened in Amari and the Night Brothers by B B AlstonThe Storm Runner: 1 (Storm Runner Novel) : J.C. Cervantes: Amazon.co.uk: BooksBlended : Draper, Sharon M.: Amazon.co.uk: Books

Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi
MY | Quiz # 233773 | BL 4.7 | Scholastic Children’s Books

Twelve-year-old Aru stretches the truth to fit in at her school, but when she is dared to prove an ancient lamp is cursed, she inadvertently frees an ancient demon. This is book one in a series that is perfect for fans of Keeper of Lost Cities.

Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston
MY | Quiz # 240794 | BL 4.9 | Egmont Children’s Books Ltd.
Thirteen-year-old Amari, a poor African American girl from the projects, gets an invitation from her missing brother to join the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs and join in the fight against an evil magician. The first book in a series that fans of The School of Good and Evil will love.

The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes
MY | Quiz # 238784 | BL 4.4 | Disney * Hyperion
To prevent the Maya gods from battling each other and destroying the world, thirteen-year-old Zane must unravel an ancient prophecy, stop an evil god, and discover how his physical disability connects him to his ancestors. Percy Jackson readers will enjoy this fantasy novel based on Mayan mythology.

Blended by Sharon M. Draper
MY+ | Quiz # 239099 | BL 4.0 | Atheneum Books
11-year-old Izzy’s blended family is more divided than ever in this story about divorce and racial identity. If you’re only seen as half of this and half of that, how can you ever feel whole? This story of self acceptance will be a hit with fans of Heartstopper.

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
MY+ | Quiz # 242079 | BL 4.2 | Speak
Sunny discovers she has magic powers but needs a crash course in spells and juju to help her friends stop a killer, who has abilities much stronger than theirs. This is the first in a series that readers of the Shadow and Bone trilogy听will enjoy.

 

Island Songs: Amazon.co.uk: Alex Wheatle: 9780749082437: Books Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse 鈥 Mobius_Walker Book Review 鈥 Cannonball Read 15 Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar | GoodreadsAyesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin | Goodreads Children of Blood and Bone: 1 (Legacy of Orisha) : Adeyemi, Tomi: Amazon.co.uk: Books

Island Songs by Alex Wheatle
MY+ | Quiz # 224567 | BL 6.2 | Allison & Busby
The story of two Jamaican sisters who leave rural Jamaica for Kingston and later London, tracking their complicated relationships with their husbands, family and each other. This romantic story is perfect for lovers of Taylor Jenkins Reid.

Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse
UY | Quiz # 242795 | BL 5.7 | Simon & Schuster, Inc.

This is the first book in the Between Earth and Sky trilogy, inspired by Pre-Columbian American civilisations and woven into a tale of prophecies, political intrigue, and forbidden magic. The first in a series that fans of the mythological components of Madeline Miller’s novels will love.

Hani & Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar
UY | Quiz # 241022 | BL 4.9 | Hodder Children’s Books

When Hani comes out as bisexual, her friends invalidate her. Panicked, Hani blurts out that she’s in a relationship with a girl her friends can’t stand – Ishu. But soon after they start ‘fake dating’, Hani and Ishu begin developing real feelings. Readers of Red, White and Royal Blue will enjoy this heart-warming queer YA love story.

Ace of Spades by Faridah 脌b铆k茅-脥y铆m铆d茅
UY | Quiz # 240862 | BL 5.1 | Usborne

At Niveus Private Academy, the students are never less than perfect until an anonymous texter, Aces, starts targeting talented musician Devon and head girl Chiamaka. Fans of One of Us is Lying will be excited to jump into this mysterious thriller.

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin
UY | Quiz # 242769 | BL 5.2 | Corvus Books

When Ayesha and Khalid meet, they feel an attraction. But surely they are far too different to be a good match? This romantic tale is great for readers who love Tessa Bailey.

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
UY | Quiz # 233705 | BL 4.8 | Macmillan Children’s Books

Seventeen-year-old Z茅lie, her older brother Tzain, and rogue princess Amari fight to restore magic to the land and activate a new generation of magi. Fans of Kingdom of the Wicked will enjoy the first book in this fantasy thriller series.

Please note that due to the nature of TikTok, this list doesn’t include any Lower Years books.听

We are currently updating our topics and subtopics on Bookfinder with the aim of making them more inclusive and useful for our customers. Please direct any suggestions you have to us via

Why not get in touch via to let us know your favourite titles on this topic? If you have some titles you’d like to see quizzed, please use the form.

Happy quizzing!


Posted on 31 July 2023 at 5:28 pm
Tagged with , , , , , ,


Quick Links


Each month, we publish a list of the new AR quizzes released in the previous month.

November 2023



Partners & Special Offers

We work with carefully selected partners who share our mission of accelerating learning for all and provide services that complement our programmes.


Favourites from Twitter